Author Topic: Router Help  (Read 1217 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SovareZza

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1671
  • Be Patient.
Router Help
« on: April 18, 2012, 07:51 »
So, I got a new modem/router to use from my ISP so I want to use the old modem/router as a way to get better internet connection from my other modem/router that's connected to the internet.
Is there any way that this could be achieved?

Offline Mave

  • TMS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Godfather
  • *********
  • Posts: 126094
Re: Router Help
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2012, 09:54 »
I'm not sure what you mean here.
Do you mean expanding the signal?

Offline Nimphiouus

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1602
  • TMS Fuhrer. (Non_Poster)
Re: Router Help
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2012, 09:58 »
I've tried this, I had a router laying around and received a new router from my ISP, I connected it together, however it creates 2 networks to join, there is no way you can have them together to create a stronger signal.

But there are ways you can increase the signal of your single router.

1) Keep cats from sleeping on the router, they can slow down the internet.
2) Google.

Offline SovareZza

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1671
  • Be Patient.
Re: Router Help
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2012, 03:33 »
I'm not sure what you mean here.
Do you mean expanding the signal?
I suppose so, yes. I want the signal from the router which actually connects to the internet to push the signal in to the router in my room so that I am never at a loss of signal at any point in my house (unless the first router goes down).

Offline Mave

  • TMS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Godfather
  • *********
  • Posts: 126094
Re: Router Help
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 08:43 »
I don't think you can use the old one to just extend the signal.
We have an extender at home too, it works pretty good.

http://www.netgear.com.au/home/products/wireless-range-extenders/WN2500RP.aspx
This one looks interesting and really good.

Offline Stybar

  • Master Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 9383
  • durrrr
Re: Router Help
« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2012, 08:52 »
Tried to install an extender, did not work well. But that was probably because my dad thought he knew it better then the instruction manual.
My advice, DO NOT buy anything by Cisco that says "easy install". Cisco is great, but only for the really expensive, professional stuff. Consumer based Cisco devices is pure crap.
Also make sure that everything in your network is by the same brand. Not necessary, but it will help a lot.

Offline Impulse

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 7847
  • LozL
Re: Router Help
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2012, 08:54 »
You need to set up a bridge between the two routers. I wouldn't know how to do it though, and I am not even sure if you can do it with the ISP's router.

Offline SovareZza

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1671
  • Be Patient.
Re: Router Help
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2012, 01:24 »
You need to set up a bridge between the two routers. I wouldn't know how to do it though, and I am not even sure if you can do it with the ISP's router.
They're both routers that I can go to Dicksmith and purchase, but the ISP has already beaten me to it.

I'll scour google for some more information. Thanks guise.