Author Topic: MusicBee  (Read 2074 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
MusicBee
« on: November 12, 2011, 07:44 »
This is a nice light alternative music player I found the other day, I really like it.

The main screen looks something like this:
(Click to enlarge)




It's got tons of themes preinstalled and you can make your own as well, if you don't like the look.


One of the main draws for me is that while maintaining a lot of the awesome features from, for example Winamp, it uses only about half the memory:




I'm guessing it uses a lot less than iTunes as well, but I didn't test that because I don't have iTunes installed.



It's got a compact player mode, which is nice if you don't want it in the way



And an even smaller mini player mode







It's a great player, I love how it looks and works. Surprisingly it was made in Visual Basic o.O (As far as I know)

It's got a ton of other features too, see them here:
http://getmusicbee.com/features.html

From what I understand, MusicBee can even accept some plugins developed for Winamp with the inclusion of a certain .dll in the installation directory ::3:

Download Here!

I switched over from using Winamp to this, because winamp was buggy as fuck for me and took up a ton of resources. All those extra features are either available here as well, or I never used in Winamp. I like this player a LOT better :megusta:

Offline Panki

  • VIP
  • Ultimate Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12576
  • 0x1A4 every day
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2011, 07:51 »
My Winamp only uses 30.000k and I'll stick to it, this looks like a nice alternative tho' :DD

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2011, 08:17 »
My Winamp only uses 30.000k

Fml what the fuck's wrong with mine :||| I don't even have any skins or plugins installed D:

Oh well, I'm getting used to this now. And I like this 'feature' I just found while listening to an internet radio; I used to listen to radios through RadioSure, but it had a cycling title bar, so the song name wasn't always showing, and if I was playing a game it'd sometimes be hard to catch (Also if it was prntscrn'd sometimes the whole thing wouldn't show up). I've missed getting the names of a ton of good songs because of this. In MB there's a play history (It's probably in winamp too but I'm not comparing the radio stuff to that), and it shows the title and artist of all the tracks they play on the radio :DD



Offline Impulse

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 7849
  • LozL
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2011, 09:01 »
Have been using it for ages already :p
Pretty awesome music player.

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2011, 09:17 »
Have been using it for ages already :p
Pretty awesome music player.

WHY WOULDN'T YOU SHARE IT??? :<

So many winamp related frustrations could have been avoided :(

Offline Panki

  • VIP
  • Ultimate Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12576
  • 0x1A4 every day
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #5 on: November 12, 2011, 09:35 »
GPow, take a look at Winamps function calls and tell us what's going on D: I want to know what happens :3
(Get Process Monitor and create a filter for Winamp :D)

Offline Impulse

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 7849
  • LozL
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #6 on: November 12, 2011, 10:29 »
Have been using it for ages already :p
Pretty awesome music player.

WHY WOULDN'T YOU SHARE IT??? :<

So many winamp related frustrations could have been avoided :(
I thought I already did untill now.

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2011, 12:10 »
GPow, take a look at Winamps function calls and tell us what's going on D: I want to know what happens :3
(Get Process Monitor and create a filter for Winamp :D)

Oh god more applications to clog up my system :|

I got the program, and now idk what you're really asking me to do :P

Offline Nimphiouus

  • VIP
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1599
  • TMS Fuhrer. (Non_Poster)
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #8 on: November 13, 2011, 12:54 »
Does no one own ipod's? what happened to using iTunes?  =D

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #9 on: November 13, 2011, 01:01 »
I hate itunes and idevices with a passion, apple sucks ASS when running on windows. I 'got rid' of my ipod (lent it to a friend) and bought a REAL mp3 player.

Offline Panki

  • VIP
  • Ultimate Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12576
  • 0x1A4 every day
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #10 on: November 13, 2011, 09:27 »
GPow, take a look at Winamps function calls and tell us what's going on D: I want to know what happens :3
(Get Process Monitor and create a filter for Winamp :D)

Oh god more applications to clog up my system :|


You launch it, and create the following filter:

Process Name | contains | winamp | include

Then it should only show Winamps function calls.

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #11 on: November 13, 2011, 04:42 »
logfile.xml

http://min.us/mVyPhPYbV

Should be a nice short read, there's only 265777 lines.

Offline Mave

  • TMS Founder
  • Administrator
  • Godfather
  • *********
  • Posts: 116424
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2011, 01:14 »
^ LOL

I'm with iTunes because of my iPhone...

Offline Maffia171

  • Pro Member
  • *******
  • Posts: 3773
  • I shiggy diggy
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2011, 02:47 »
I'm with iTunes because of my iPhone...

Doesn't mean you have to use it to listen to music. I only use iTunes for updating / restoring and stuff and foobar2000 to listen to music. That's everything I need :D

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2011, 05:09 »
I'm with iTunes because of my iPhone...

Doesn't mean you have to use it to listen to music. I only use iTunes for updating / restoring and stuff and foobar2000 to listen to music. That's everything I need :D

Foobar is pretty cool, I used that for a while, But I didn't like its lack of customizability :\

Offline Impulse

  • Global Moderator
  • Master Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 7849
  • LozL
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2011, 08:48 »
I'm with iTunes because of my iPhone...

Doesn't mean you have to use it to listen to music. I only use iTunes for updating / restoring and stuff and foobar2000 to listen to music. That's everything I need :D

Foobar is pretty cool, I used that for a while, But I didn't like its lack of customizability :\
You can actually customize it a lot. Though you need some skills to do it properly.

Offline GPow69

  • consololol ಠ_ಠ
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • ********
  • Posts: 18872
  • EDM for life ♥
Re: MusicBee
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2011, 08:58 »
Skills in what? Coding? I LOVE CODING. Tell me more.

By customization I was basically talking about like, moving stuff around in the interface easily, without actually changing any code, partially because I thought that wasn't even possible :P